Coraline: A Handmade Fairy Tale

Coraline (2009) was the first stop-motion feature to be conceived and photographed in stereoscopic 3D. Written and directed by Henry Selick (The Nightmare Before Christmas, James and the Giant Peach).

Coraline had its World Premiere on February 5, 2009 at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall in Portland.

Among other awards in 2009, Coraline was nominated for an Academy Award®, and also captured the prestigious Cristal at the Annecy International Animation Festival in France.

Bradbury Award, Best Dramatic Production (Nomination)
Academy Award®, Best Animated Feature Film (Nomination)
VES Award, Outstanding Animated Character (Nomination)
VES Award, Outstanding Animation (Nomination)
VES Award, Outstanding Effects Animation (Nomination)
VES Award, Outstanding Models and Miniatures (Nomination)
CAS Award, Career Achievement Award to Randy Thom (Win)
CAS Award, Lifetime Achievement Award to Henry Selick (Win)
Lumiere Award, Best 3D Stereography Animated Feature (Win)
People’s Choice Award, Favorite Animated 3D Movie (Win)
BAFTA, Best Animated Film (Nomination)
Golden Reel Award, Best Sound Editing (Nomination)
ACE Eddie Award, Best-Edited Animated Feature (Nomination)
Annie Award, Best Character Design (Win)
Annie Award, Best Music (Win)
Annie Award, Best Production Design (Win)
Annie Award, Special Achievement: McLean and Meunier (Win)
Annie Award, Best Animated Feature (Nomination)
Annie Award, Best Character Animation (Nomination)
Annie Award, Best Directing (Nomination)
Annie Award, Best Storyboarding (Nomination)
Annie Award, Best Voice Acting (Nomination)
Official Best of Fest Award, For Animation Lovers (Win)
Official Best of Fest Award, For Family Viewing (Win)
Official Best of Fest Award, For Kids (Win)
Denver Film Critics Society, Best Original Song (Nomination)
PGA Award, Producer of the Year (Nomination)
Golden Globe® Award, Best Animated Feature Film (Nomination)
BFCA Critics' Choice Award, Best Animated Film (Nomination)
AFI Award, One of the Year's 10 Best Films (Win)
COFCA Award, Best Animated Film (Nomination)
OFCS Award, Best Animated Feature (Nomination)
STL Film Critics Award, Best Animated Feature (Nomination)
CFCA Award, Best Animated Feature (Nomination)
EDA Award, Best Animated Female (Win)
EDA Award, Best Animated Film (Nomination)
SFFCC Award, Best Animated Feature (Win)
WAFCA Award, Best Animated Film (Nomination)
BAFTA Children’s Award, Best Feature Film (Win)
Scream Award, Best Fantasy Movie (Nomination)
Scream Award, Best Scream-Play (Nomination)
Scream Award, Scream Song of the Year (Nomination)
Venice Int'l Film Festival, Best 3D Film (Nomination)
Webby Award, Best Website (Win)
Webby Award, People’s Voice Winner for Best Website (Win)
Webby Award, Best Movie and Film Website (Nomination)
Telly Award, Fanboy Sizzle Webisodes (Win)
Telly Award, International TV Special (Win)
Annecy Int’l Animated Film Festival, Cristal Award (Win)
Stockholm Film Festival Junior, Best Film (Win)